Matron Agnes Brooks R.R.C.

Matron Agnes Brooks (civilian) served with the British Medical Service during WW1. She is entitled to the Royal Red Cross 1st class, the British War Medal. She also received a silver badge from the Vice-Chairman of the King Edward VII Hospital Silver.

1906: She began her training at the Old Infirmary, she finished in 1909. She received her certification and her nurse’s registration number is 14764.

1910 : She became Sister

She worked for the British Red Cross and the Order of Saint-John of Jerusalem

November 25th 1914 : She arrived in France and organised the X-ray department for the 2nd British Red Cross Hospital in Rouen

1915 : She was promoted Matron at the King Edward VII Hospital

February 16th, 1920: She awarded her Royal Red Cross on that day and her investiture ceremony on March 3rd, 1921

May 18th, 1923 : She registered herself for the first time on the State Register of Nurses.

September : She retired from her job at the King Edward VII Hospital

1928 : Her address was 19 Trinity Place, Windsor

If you know more information on this lady, please leave me message so I can add it to her small biography

Matron Agnes Brooks WW1 medal and badge

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • stones Precious  On 2013/03/22 at 07:17

    Howdy! I understand this is sort of off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does managing a well-established blog such as
    yours require a large amount of work? I’m completely new to running a blog but I do write in my journal everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I will be
    able to share my experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers.

    Appreciate it!

  • spaniard13  On 2014/10/02 at 11:30

    The Canadian “Army Nursing Sister’s” in the Second South Africana’ War, 1899-1902.

    http://canadaatwarblog.wordpress.com/2014/09/26/the-canadian-army-nursing-sisters-in-the-second-south-africana-war-1899-1902/

  • Andy Turner  On 2016/04/19 at 03:56

    Hi – thanks for posting this information. The photo of her medals is great – where did it come from? I have quite a bit more information about Ms Brooks as she is on a family tree that I’ve been researching. If you’d like me to send it to you offline, please let me know.

  • Nelson  On 2016/04/27 at 09:32

    Andy – I took this photo from a medals collector display a few years ago. If you want to send me the informatin you can email me at marinoni99@hotmail.com, I would appreciate and add it here

Leave a Reply

